Meet the Team

The Maine Harvest Credit Project is primarily the work of Sam May (Advisory Board Chair) and Scott Budde (Project Director).  The credit union chartering process is led by the Maine Harvest Organizer Group – 15 individuals (see below) from across Maine and with a wide range of skills and background.  This is the group that is “leading the charge” of creating the credit union and will be its first members.

The Project has an Oversight Board of MOFGA and Maine Farmland Trust Representatives and an Advisory Board of subject matter experts and key stakeholders.  In 2017, we were joined by John Parsons – a Mainer and experienced credit union executive – who is helping us as a senior advisor focused on strategy and product development.

Sam May

Sam May

Advisory Board Chair / 207.653.2260

Sam grew up in midcoast Maine where he co-founded Smith and May Masonry and helped his brother start Peter Ott’s Restaurant in Camden. After earning an MBA in international business, he worked in Silicon Valley as an equity research analyst and managing director with US Bancorp Piper Jaffray, covering technology stocks worldwide. In 2005 he moved to Hong Kong and helped Chinese companies navigate US capital markets until his return to Maine in 2011. Sam currently serves on the board of the Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association (MOFGA), where he sits on the executive, finance, and fundraising committees. He also serves on the steering committee of Slow Money Maine. Sam lives in Portland with his wife and family.

Scott Budde, CFA

Scott Budde, CFA

Project Director / 207.653.5527

Scott has 30 years of experience in banking, consulting, and investment management. For 18 of these years, he worked at TIAA-CREF, a large pension and investment firm where he was an analyst, portfolio manager and created the firm’s first investment department focused on social and impact investing strategies. His prior bank experience includes 10 years in finance, strategic planning, and credit analysis in Boston. He began his community development credit union work in 2012 and returned to Maine in 2013. Scott graduated from Bowdoin College and has a master’s degree in International Affairs from Columbia University. He lives in Portland with his wife and a poodle-terrier mix named Casco.

John Parsons

John Parsons

Senior Advisor / 760.525.1231

Born in Japan, John is a son of Maine with roots in farming (Skowhegan/Cornville) and on Maine’s waters (North Haven/Waterville).  After college at Bowdoin and grad school at Rensselaer he started his career in Advertising and Banking in Boston, Martha’s Vineyard and product development in San Fransisco (Bank of California). His credit union experience started with being part of the founding team at Technology Credit Union in Silicon Valley.  From there he has spent the past 35 years as a credit union “C-level” executive including as EVP at Mission FCU in San Diego ($3b in assets) and CEO at First City CU in Los Angeles ($600m in assets). He also maintains his consulting business, Cooperative Strategies which specializes in Strategy, Performance and Mindfulness.  His daughter Jessica lives in Chicago and his son John lives in Denver.  He lives and works with his partner Kim in Waterville and Oakland

Maine Harvest Organizer Group

  • Amanda Beal*,  President & CEO of Maine Farmland Trust
  • Aaron Bell, Owner & Farmer, Tidemill Farm
  • Scott Budde, Maine Harvest Co-founder, Project Director and Lead Organizer
  • Gray Harris, Senior Program Director, Coastal Enterprises, Inc.
  • Katia Holmes, Owner & Farmer, Mistybrook Farm
  • Logan Johnston*, Farmer, Oaklands Farm,  MOFGA Board Member
  • James Lawrence*,  Maine Farmland Trust Board Member
  • Steve Levy, Consultant, Steven C. Levy Consulting, LLC
  • Rosa Libby, Homesteader
  • Sam May*, Maine Harvest Co-founder, Board Chair & MOFGA Board Member
  • Anna Eleanor Roosevelt, President & CEO, Goodwill Industries of Northern New England
  • John Sharood, CFO, Mousam Valley Mushrooms
  • Sarah Smith, Owner & Farmer, Grasslands Farm
  • Christian Van Dyck, VP & Compliance Officer, cPort Credit Union
  • Linzee Weld, Board Treasurer, Maine Grains LLC

*Also on the Maine Harvest Credit Project Oversight Board



By Phone

Scott Budde: 207.653.5527
Sam May: 207.653.2260